On getting a new book delivered through the door….

Just got my copy of ‘Stoner’ by John Williams through the door. I have high hopes for it, but also feel a little afraid that it won’t live up to expectations. I am reminded of when the tomb-like hardback edition of Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch fell through the letter box. I fell on it voraciously and it started so well, the relationship between mother and son was painful and brilliant, but somehow it got lost and so did I and it became a sympathy read. Julie Meyerson seemed to be a lone voice in the paroxysms of ecstasy accompaning its publication – I think she was pretty much spot on in this review…..http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/oct/19/goldfinch-donna-tartt-review

Leave a Reply

